Best Ulike Alternative: Skintekie IPL Hair Removal Device ($189 vs $349)
Best Ulike Alternative: Skintekie IPL Hair Removal Device
The Ulike Air 10 is $349. The Skintekie IPL Hair Removal Device is $189. Both are FDA-cleared, both have a skin tone sensor, and both use contact cooling to keep sessions comfortable.
There is one specification Ulike does not publish, and it is the one that tells you how long you actually own the device.
Skintekie vs Ulike Air 10
| Specification | Skintekie | Ulike Air 10 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $189 | $349 |
| Flashes | 500,000+ | Not published |
| Skin tone sensor | Yes | Yes |
| Contact cooling | Sapphire ice-cooling | Yes |
| Intensity levels | 5 adjustable | 4 modes |
| Published skin tone range | Fitzpatrick I–IV | Listed by tone |
| Treatment areas | Face below cheekbones, underarms, bikini, legs, arms, chest, back | Face and body |
| Full leg session | Under 10 minutes | About 10 minutes |
| FDA status | Cleared | Cleared |
| Money-back window | 30 days | Varies by retailer |
$160 less, for the same core technology
Both devices do the same thing in the same way: intense pulsed light, absorbed by the pigment in the hair, delivered through a cooled contact plate with a sensor that reads your skin tone before it fires.
At $189 against $349 you are keeping $160 and getting a device with a skin tone sensor, sapphire contact cooling, five adjustable intensity levels and a published flash count. That gap is a pricing decision, not a technology one — we sell direct, with no retail markup and no celebrity marketing budget folded into the sticker.
We publish the flash count. Ulike does not
An IPL device is a lamp, and lamps have a finite number of pulses in them. When a sealed handset runs out of flashes, it is finished — there is no replacement cartridge on these devices.
Skintekie publishes 500,000+ flashes. Ulike does not put a flash figure on its product page at all.
To put that in context: a full-body session runs a few hundred flashes. 500,000 is far more than one person will use in the lifetime of the device, which is exactly why the number is worth stating. A brand that tells you how much lamp you are buying is a brand that expects you to still be using the device in five years.
What about 5 Min Skin?
If you are comparing Ulike against 5 Min Skin, there is a third specification worth checking on both: the skin tone sensor.
IPL works on the contrast between the pigment in your hair and the pigment in your skin. A skin tone sensor reads your skin before each pulse and prevents the device firing where that contrast is too low. It is the single safety-critical component on any at-home IPL device, and it is the reason these devices restrict which skin tones they work on.
Skintekie publishes a built-in skin tone sensor and a stated Fitzpatrick I–IV range. Ulike publishes a SkinSensor. 5 Min Skin does not publish a skin tone sensor specification on its product page, and does not state a Fitzpatrick range.
That may simply be a gap in their published material rather than the device. But on the one component where getting it wrong means a burn rather than a disappointing session, we would want the specification in writing before spending anything.
The same goes for cooling. Skintekie publishes sapphire contact cooling and Ulike publishes a contact temperature. 5 Min Skin publishes neither.
Sapphire ice-cooling, on every pulse
The most common reason people stop using an at-home IPL device is not that it fails to work. It is that the bikini line becomes unpleasant enough that sessions get skipped, and a schedule with gaps in it does not produce results.
The sapphire plate sits between the lamp and your skin and stays cool through the session, which is what makes the sensitive areas tolerable. Combined with five adjustable intensity levels, you can start low on a new area and build up rather than committing to the manufacturer's default on day one.
What to expect, honestly
This is hair reduction, not removal, on every device in this category including Ulike's. Treated hair comes back finer, sparser and slower, and you keep a maintenance session in the calendar every few weeks.
Because IPL only affects hair in its active growth phase — about a fifth of your hair at any moment — the first visible change usually lands around sessions three to four, with the fuller effect between eight and twelve. Anyone promising otherwise is overselling a handheld device.
It also will not work on light, red, grey or white hair, because there is no pigment for the light to target. That is true of Ulike, 5 Min Skin and every other IPL device on the market.
FDA-cleared device · 30-day money-back guarantee · 1-year warranty · Free shipping
Skintekie IPL Hair Removal Device — $189
500,000+ flashes · Sapphire ice-cooling · Skin tone sensor · 5 intensity levels
Frequently asked questions
Is Skintekie a good alternative to Ulike?
Yes. Same core technology — IPL with a skin tone sensor and contact cooling — at $189 against $349, with a published flash count of 500,000+ that Ulike does not state.
How many flashes does the Ulike Air 10 have?
Ulike does not publish a flash count on its product page. Skintekie publishes 500,000+.
Does the Skintekie device have a skin tone sensor?
Yes, built in, with a published Fitzpatrick I–IV range. Full skin tone safety guide here.
Does it hurt?
Most people describe a warm snap rather than pain, and the sapphire plate keeps the contact point cool. It varies by body area. Here is what it actually feels like area by area.
How often do I use it?
Three sessions a week for the first four weeks, twice a week through weeks five to eight, then maintenance every four to eight weeks. Full week-by-week schedule.
How long before I see a difference?
Visible change usually starts around sessions three to four, with the fuller effect between eight and twelve. Realistic timeline here.
Can I use it on my face?
Below the cheekbones — upper lip, chin and jawline. Never near the eyes. Full guidance on facial use.